News & Current Affairs

Taraba State Governor Appoints Seven Women to Serve As Commissioners

By Azeezat Okunlola | Jul 21, 2023
Taraba State's governor, Agbu Kefas, has nominated 21 commissioners, including 7 women and 14 men.
At the Gym Hall of Jolly Nyameh Stadium in Jalingo, the State Chief Judge, Justice Joel Filibus Agya, administered the oath of office. Ahead of their appointments however, Taraba's State House of Assembly approved each commissioner.
In his address, Kefas noted that everyone had been considered in the selection process, and that there is a disproportionate number of young people in the cabinet because his administration values youth development.
“The youths have demonstrated capacity with innovative ideas to leadership and we need to give them opportunities to grow and contribute their quota to the development of the society. We have equally involved women in our quest to ensure gender inclusivity," he said.  “I know you will face challenges, but your experiences in the past will help you to overcome them all. So, work in synergy with your colleagues and other members of the State Executive Council."
The new commissioners and their respective responsibilities are:
Engr Naomi Tanko Agbu – Ministry of Energy and Economy Development
Dr.Sarah Enoch Adi – Ministry of Finance, Budget and Economic Planning
Yakubu Maikasuwa SAN – Ministry of Justice
Dr. Augustina Godwin – Ministry of Education
Mrs. Zainab Usman – Ministry of Information and Re-orientation
Prof Nicholas Oliver Namessan – Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security
Mrs. Mary Sinjen – Ministry of Women Affairs and Child Development
Mr. Peter George – Ministry of Commerce and Industries
Mr. Gideon Nonso – Ministry of Digital Economy and Innovation
Mr. Joseph Joshua – Ministry of Youths and Sports Development
Yakubu S Yakubu – Ministry of Transport Development
Mrs. Aishat Abdul’aziz Barde – Ministry of Environment and Climate Change
Hon. Titus Joseph Dagombe – Ministry of Heritage and Eco-Tourism
Dr. Bodiya Bansheya – Ministry of Health
Mr. Habu James Philips – Ministry of Cooperative and Poverty Alleviation
Mr. Usman Muslimu Abdullahi – Ministry of Science and Technology
Hon. Saviour Bazolig Noku – Ministry of Special Duties and Social Development
Dr Philister Ibrahim Musa – Ministry of Social Justice and Reorientation
Daniel Ishaku – Ministry of Water Management and Aquatic Affairs
Comrade Moseh Luka – Ministry of Works and Infrastructure Development.
Comrade Julius Peter – Ministry of Urban and Rural Development